President: Dr. Todd Olson,
Georgetown University
Phone: (202) 687-6318
E-mail: tao4@georgetown.edu

President-elect: Dr. Deborah Cady-Melzer,
Le Moyne College
Phone: (315) 445-4527
E-mail: cadymedm@lemoyne.edu

Next SSAO Meeting

Location: Loyola University Chicago
Dates: November 13-15, 2019

For more information, please visit jesuitstudentaffairs.org.

As a conference of the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities (AJCU), the Senior Student Affairs Officers (SSAOs) of the 27 U.S. Jesuit colleges and universities gather each fall at an AJCU member institution. The SSAOs serve as the Board of Directors for the Jesuit Association of Student Personnel Administrators (JASPA), supporting JASPA in its vision to be the student affairs leader in Catholic higher education within the rich heritage of Ignatian values.

Jesuit Association of Student Personnel Administrators (JASPA)

Mission: The Jesuit Association of Student Personnel Administrators (JASPA) is comprised of student affairs administrators at the 27 Jesuit colleges and universities in the United States. JASPA hosts a spring conference in conjunction with the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA) annual meeting. Once every five years, JASPA hosts a week-long Summer Institute on a member campus. The next Summer Institute is scheduled for 2020 at Loyola University Chicago. Throughout the year, JASPA promotes the professional development, formation and collaboration of student affairs administrators working in Jesuit, Catholic higher education through a robust offering of programs and online enrichment.

JASPA was originally founded in 1954 as the Conference of Jesuit Student Personnel Administrators (CJSPA). In Fall 1981, JASPA became the official name of the organization and JASPA continues today, as the original members of CJSPA intended, to work to promote the mission of Jesuit higher education.

JASPA promotes five values:

  • Excellence: a commitment to professional engagement in practice and scholarship;

  • Integrity: a commitment to professional ethics and Ignatian spirituality;

  • Service: a commitment to work that promotes justice;

  • Inclusion: a commitment to supporting diverse leadership & participation; and

  • Leadership: a commitment to values-based leading and learning.