Out of desire to better engage the faith that does justice and to network among Jesuit Colleges & Universities in the United States, the Commitment to Justice Conference was formed. The Justice Conference began with three regional conferences in 1998-1999 which then led to conferences on Justice in 2000 at Santa Clara University and 2002 at Loyola University Chicago.

The National Steering Committee on Justice in Jesuit Higher Education was formed in 2002 with a charge to coordinate, convene, communicate, and connect persons and institutions devoted to justice in Jesuit higher education. Since then, the committee has convened national conferences every 3-4 years including; John Carroll University (2005), Fairfield University (2009), Creighton University (2013), and Seattle University (2017). This year’s Commitment to Justice Conference will be hosted at Georgetown University, June 3-6, 2020.

The conference maintains a repository which includes the schedules, presentations and videos (when available) of conference keynote speakers and other related documents.


Co-Chair: Joe Orlando,
Seattle University
E-mail: jorlando@seattleu.edu

Co-Chair: Michael Duffy,
University of San Francisco
E-mail: duffy@usfca.edu

2020 Steering Committee

Next Meeting

Location: Georgetown University
Dates: June 3-6, 2020

Registration & Call for Proposals