Winter / Spring 2018 AJCU Conferences & Events

Ajculogo.jpg

The Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities (AJCU) sponsors over 30 conferences (affinity groups) within the AJCU Network. The conferences provide a forum for the exchange of ideas, information and best practices; support the professional development of their members; and present opportunities for AJCU representatives to discuss collaboration and challenges in Jesuit higher education.

Most of the AJCU conferences host meetings at least once a year, and many of them facilitate regular communication among members through listservs. The following conferences and affiliated Jesuit programs and events will be held this winter and spring:

Conference of Registrars in Jesuit Education (CORe)
March 24, 2018, Orlando, FL (held in conjunction with annual meeting of the American Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers
Chair: Robert Bromfield, University of San Francisco
(415) 422-2786, rlbromfield@usfca.edu

Chief Academic Officers
April 7, 2018, Chicago, IL (location TBD)
Chair: Dr. Stephen Freedman, Fordham University
(718) 817-3043, sfreedman@fordham.edu

Jesuit Graduate Enrollment Management Professionals (JGAP)
April 11, 2018, Loyola University New Orleans (held prior to annual meeting of the Association for Graduate Enrollment Management)
President: Maureen Faux, Loyola University Maryland
(410) 617-5817, mwfaux@loyola.edu

Education Deans
April 12, 2018, Fordham University
President: Dr. Vincent C. Alfonso, Gonzaga University
(509) 313-3594, alfonso@gonzaga.edu

Facilities, Public Safety & Sustainability
April 16-18, 2018, University of Scranton
Contact: James Caffrey, University of Scranton
(570) 941-6267, James.Caffrey@scranton.edu

National Seminar on Jesuit Higher Education
April 20-21, 2018, Gonzaga University
Chiar: Rev. Patrick Howell, S.J., Seattle University
(206) 437-4537, PATRICKH@seattleu.edu

Chief Finance Officers
April 24-27, 2018, Gonzaga University (held in conjunction with AJCU General Counsels)
Contact: Joe Smith, Gonzaga University
(509) 313-6801, smithj@gonzaga.edu

General Counsels
April 24-27, 2018, Gonzaga University (held in conjunction with AJCU Chief Finance Officers)
Contact: Maureen McGuire, Gonzaga University
(509) 313-6137, mcguirem@gonzaga.edu

International Education
May 28, 2018, Philadelphia, PA (venue TBD; held in conjunction with annual meeting of NAFSA (Association of International Educators)
Chair: René Padilla, Creighton University
(402) 280-4745, rpadilla@creighton.edu

National Seminar on Jesuit Higher Education
January 26-27, 2018, University of San Francisco
Chair: Rev. Patrick Howell, S.J., Seattle University
(206) 437-4537, PATRICKH@seattleu.edu

AJCU Board Meeting
February 2-3, 2018, Washington, D.C.
Contact: Michael Wieczorek, AJCU
(202) 862-9893, mwieczorek@ajcunet.edu

Pastoral, Theological & Ministerial Education
February 18-19, 2018, Orlando, FL (held in conjunction with annual meeting of the Association of Graduate Programs in Ministry)
Chair: Dr. Brian Schmisek, Loyola University Chicago
(312) 915-7463, bschmisek@luc.edu

Jesuit Association of Student Personnel Administrators (JASPA) Senior Student Affairs Officers
March 3, 2018, Saint Joseph's University
President: Jeanne Rosenberger, Santa Clara University
(408) 554-4366, jrosenberger@scu.edu

Jesuit Conference on Rhetoric & Composition (JCRC)
March 17, 2018, Kansas City, MO (held in conjunction with annual meeting of the Conference on College Composition and Communication)
President: Ann Green, Saint Joseph's University
(610) 660-1889, agreen@sju.edu

Conference & Event Professionals Conference
March 17, 2018, Marriott City Center, Minneapolis, MN (held in conjunction with annual meeting of the Association of Collegiate Conference and Events Directors-International)
Patricia Carlson, Loyola Marymount University
(310) 338-2975, Patricia.Carlson@lmu.edu

Library Deans
March 18-21, 2018, Loyola Marymount University
Chair: Charles E. Kratz, Jr., University of Scranton
(570) 941-4008, charles.kratz@scranton.edu

Campus Ministry Directors
March 20-23, 2018, Franciscan Renewal Center (Scottsdale, AZ)
Chair: Mary Sue Callan-Farley, Marquette University
(414) 288-0524, mary.callan-farley@marquette.edu

Honors Programs
March 23-24, 2018, Creighton University
Chair: Dr. Naomi Yavneh Klos, Loyola University New Orleans
(504) 864-7330, yavneh@loyno.edu


This winter, many Jesuit alumni events will be taking place across the country. Below is a full list that will be updated over the next few months. Questions or suggestions? Please contact AJCU's director of communications, Deanna Howes Spiro: dhowes@ajcunet.edu or (202) 862-9893.

Jesuit Connections: An Evening with Rev. Stephen Katsouros, S.J. (Dean & Executive Director of Arrupe College of Loyola University Chicago)
Tuesday, January 23, 2018, The Stretch
Click here to register online.

Loyola Club of Washington, D.C. Winter Luncheon
Guest Speaker: Rev. Michael J. Sheeran, S.J. (President, AJCU)
Thursday, February 8, 2018, University Club
Click here to register online.

Loyola Club of Cleveland Winter Luncheon
Guest Speaker: Heather Lennox (Partner-in-Charge, Cleveland Office of Jones Day)
Thursday, February 8, 2018, Westin Cleveland Downtown
Click here to register online.

Friends of Ignatius Speaker Series (San Francisco, CA)
Guest Speaker: Brother Guy Consolmagno, S.J. (Director of the Vatican Observatory)
Saturday, February 10, 2018, St. Ignatius Church
Click here to register online.

Jesuit Alumni & Friends of Detroit Winter Luncheon
Guest Speaker: Rev. Thomas McClain, S.J. (General Treasurer of the Society of Jesus at the Jesuit Curia in Rome)
Tuesday, February 13, 2018, Detroit Athletic Club
Click here to register online.

Jesuit Leadership Series
Keynote Speaker: Rev. Michael J. Sheeran, S.J. (President, AJCU)
Wednesday, May 2, 2018, St. Louis, MO (venue and registration link TBD)