Higher Education Act (HEA) 


In 1965, the first Higher Education Act (HEA) was signed into law by President Lyndon Baines Johnson. The purpose of HEA is to create the rules and regulations that higher education institutions must follow in order to receive Federal student aid dollars from the government. Every six years, the entire Higher Education Act is reconsidered, which is known as reauthorization. The purpose of this reauthorization is to update, alter or add new rules that every higher education institution has to meet.